Roethlisberger nominated for the Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award


Quarterback Ben Roethlisberger is the Steelers nominee for the eighth Art Rooney Sportsmanship Award, presented annually to a player for his sportsmanship on the pitch, including fair play, respect for the game and the opponents and integrity in competition.

The award was created in 2014 to honor Art Rooney Sr., the founder of the Steelers and a member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

“Art Rooney is an iconic figure in NFL history,” NFL Commissioner Roger Goodell said at the presentation of the award. “It is fitting that we honor his legacy in this way and recognize NFL players for one of the important values ​​that Mr. Rooney represented so well.”

Roethilsberger, who has captained an attacking team 13 times, is nominated for the first time in his career. Roethlisberger is in his 18th season, giving body and soul to the game he loves.

One player from each team has been nominated for the award, and eight finalists, four from each conference, will be selected by members of the NFL legends community, including Warrick Dunn, Curtis Martin, Larry Fitzgerald and Leonard Wheeler.

Current players will have the final say when all eight appear on their Pro Bowl ballot under the NFL Sportsmanship Award. The winner is announced at the NFL Honors show the day before the Super Bowl.

The winner was named after Rooney because of the class he brought to the NFL and his approach that has always put sportsmanship at the forefront.

“It’s gratifying that sportsmanship is the category,” Steelers president Art Rooney II said when the award was first presented in 2014. “It’s appropriate. I like to think of my big one. -father like someone who was really a good sport, someone who cared about the respect and integrity of the game. The fact that it is voted by the players, well, the recipient can feel good because that it is voted by his peers. “


About Author

Comments are closed.